Introductions

(English) – (Romaji) – (Hiragana)

Pleased to meet you  –  Hajimemashite  –  はじめまして
What’s your name?  –  Namae wa nan desu ka?  –  なまえ は なん です か?
My name is ……..  –  Namae wa …….. desu  –  なまえ は 。。。。です
(OR) I am ……..  –  Watashi wa …….. desu  –  わたし は 。。。。です
How about you?  –  Anata wa?  –  あなた は?
How old are you?  –  Nan sai desu ka?  –  なん さい です か?
I am ….. Years old  –  ….. sai desu  –  。。。さい です
Where do you live?  –  Doko ni sundeimasu ka?  –  どこ に すんでいます か?
I live in ……..  –  …….. ni sundeimasu  –  。。。。に すんでいます

5 thoughts on “Introductions

  1. I was just reading through all the blogs titled “Japanese” and saw a mistaken phrase which I decided to comment on, and then realized that it was you again. (:

    Again, hope you don’t mind the corrections.

    For the second phrase, you typically add a “お” before it to make the noun polite => “おなまえ
     は なん です か” (お名前は何ですか?).

    Also, the phrase “あなたでは?” sounds very awkward to me. There might be a case where it is grammatically correct, but I think the typical translation for “How about you?” is “あなたは?”

    Like

    • Your comments are welcome. I have to mention though that for adding the お to make おなまえ, is fine to make it polite, but I think really it’s less used. Also, I was recently talking to a native Japanese speaker, who said they also find it strange and a bit awkward when foreigners use all the polite forms of everything. So then I gets it’s a question of when to use polite forms and when to use casual 🙂

      As for ‘あなたでは?’ or ‘あなたは?’, I think you are right, although I have heard both ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • As for the politeness discussion, my take is that each Japanese person feels different about this. I’ve been hinted at I should use more polite Japanese in certain situations, and I know other people that have as well.

        Regarding the “お名前は” vs “名前は” debate, I use Japanese children’s books to teach my son and I have seen the phrase “おなまえは?” at least once.

        Also, though it is not 100% proof, if you do a google search for both “お名前は何ですか” and “名前は何ですか”、you’ll find over 180,000 results for the former, and only ~200 for the latter. Also some of the results in the second group still have お in them. (Make sure you click through past the first page in order to get an accurate count since Google cheats if you don’t.)

        Also, just as a final random piece of proof here is a web page of a guy trying to translate from another language to Japanese. He uses the “お名前” forms in his translations.

        http://samzense.blogspot.com/2011/10/blog-post_5258.html

        Surely, there are cases where if you overuse certain polite forms, you will get an unnatural result but I am fairly certain this is not one of them. In any case, if you talk to this Japanese speaker again, ask them specifically about the “お名前” case. I’d be curious to hear what they have to say.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hiya, I found out for you. According to the native Japanese speaker, polite forms such as “お名前” are only really used if talking to someone older or to a superior. To use it with someone your own age or younger it would be considered sort of strange. They also mentioned however, that using polite forms with things such as “おみそしる” or “おしょゆ” is a popular thing to do. Very interesting, right?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Where to begin with Japanese?! 10 Golden Steps | My Generation Japan

Leave a Reply

