HAIKU – my first in 日本語

My Japanese Haiku – and translation:
冬の夢                       Fuyu no yume                        The dream of winter
春の悪夢と              Haru no akumu to                 And the nightmare of spring
僕の死去                  Saiai no shikyo                       Death’s beloved

(This particular haiku is my first attempt ever at writing one in Japanese)

Haiku is traditional Japanese poetry, once called Hokku but changed at the end of the 1800s. They traditionally consist of 3 lines, the first being 5 syllables, the second 7, and last 5 again to total 17. In English we tend to write them in three separate lines, but in traditional Japanese they would be written down following on from one another, while maintaining their juxtaposition. Haikus were commonly written about seasons, but nowadays are written about much more varying subjects.

The first Haiku I ever wrote was in year 6 of primary school (age 12) about a snowman if I remember right… The one I have written above is the first I’ve ever written in Japanese, and I didn’t really think I could do it, but it didn’t turn out so bad! I’ve done another simpler one in English which is simply a tiny Haiku-form rant concerning my distaste for modern culture and society in Britain:

In ancient times past
We sold each other for slaves
Now we sell ourselves

4 thoughts on “HAIKU – my first in 日本語

Leave a Reply

